Skip to content

Tour of Szeklerland

9-12 AUGUST 2023

LIVE HISTORY STAGES Tour of Szeklerland 7-9 AUGUST 2024








Tour of Szeklerland 2024 stages


List of teams that have confirmed their participation in the Tour of Szeklerland 2024





In 2024 the 18th edition of the Tour of Szeklerland will take place. This time, the start will be in Sfântu Gheorghe, and on the first day of the competition, after the presentation of the teams, the public will have the opportunity to take part in the great Prolog stage, starting and finishing in the B-Hotel parking lot.

A multi-stage road cycling race, the Tour of Szeklerland is a representative competition, not only in Eastern Europe, but also all across Europe. Founders Eduard Novák and Róbert Ráduly organised the first edition in 2006 as a regional competition, but soon, the Tour of Szeklerland received international qualification, so that in 2008 it became the first UCI 2.2 category cycling competition in Romania. In the same year, the Cycling Tour of Romania entered the same category, but the role of trailblazer belongs to the Tour of Szeklerland. 

For a long time the centre of the competition was Miercurea Ciuc, the competition being a star race. This organisational system has changed since 2016, when the first stages took place in Sfântu Gheorghe. As of 2021, the municipality of Targu Mures and the county of Mures are also part of the competition, thus covering the entire historical territory of Szeklerland.

Sixteen years later, the traditional tournament at the beginning of August is now a regular event in the calendar of continental and club teams from neighbouring countries. Our team, Team Novak – originally Tusnad Cycling Team – also participates in all editions. Of the Hungarian teams, those led by Stubán Ferenc have been present at these competitions from the beginning until 2020.

Among the teams most often present at the competition are teams from Hungary, Austria, Italy, Poland, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Moldova, so it can rightly be said that the Szekler Tour is an international cycling competition.


2022PolandSzymon RekitaVoster ATS Team
2022PolandSzymon RekitaVoster ATS Team
2021PolandAlan BanaszekMazowsze Serce Polski
2020PolandJakub KaczmarekMazowsze Serce Polski
2019GermanyJonas RappHrinkow Advarics Cycleang
2018MoldovaNicolae TanovițchiiTeam Novak
2017AustriaPatrick BosmanHrinkow Advarics Cycleang
2016RussiaKirill PozdnyakovSynergy Baku
2015AustriaClemens FankhauserHrinkow Advarics Cycleangteam
2014BulgariaStefan HristovKocaeli Brisaspor
2013BulgariaGeorgi GeorgievBrisaspor
2012UkraineVitaliy PopkovISD–Lampre Continental
2011GermanyFlorian BissingerArbö–Gebrüder Weiss–Oberndorfer
2010BulgariaEvgeniy GerganovHemus 1986-Vivelo
2009UkraineVitaliy PopkovISD Sport Donetsk
2008Czech RepublicMartin HebikAC Sparta Praha
2007SlovakiaZoltán RemákP-Nivo-Betonexpressz